Introducing Emily: Our Weekly Woman Entrepreneur

Meet Emily, owner of Baking For Good, an online bakesale that supports great causes. Treats are baked special for every gift or celebration, and 15% of every purchase goes towards a cause of your choice. It’s a great way to add a little sugar to your day.

What inspired you to start your own business?
I’ve always loved to bake, and I grew up doing lots of fundraising and community service. Looking back, I realize that I was also starting all sorts of little businesses (usually based on my hobby of the moment, like rubber stamping or making jewelry). At the beginning of 2009, my mom received a gift of baked goods from a friend, and it got me thinking about how perfect baked goods are as gifts, especially as an alternative to flowers. I paired the idea of baked goods as gifts with the tradition of baked goods raising money for great causes and came up with the idea of an online bake sale. Baking for Good is an online bakery where we sell delicious, made-to-order brownies and cookies, and we give 15% of every purchase to a cause the customer chooses.


What is the best lesson you could give a young women who wants to start her own business?

I think it’s important to start small and test out your ideas in low-cost ways, rather than diving in and investing a lot of time, energy, and money right away. Your ideas will inevitably change, and if you’ve done things in a simple, inexpensive way, you’ll be more able to adapt and change, rather than feel like you have to (or worse, feel like you can’t) fix all these things that you invested so much in.

What do you wish you had known when you started your own business?
Everything takes longer than you think it will! Set timelines, but understand that they’ll change.


How do you stay calm when your business stresses you out?

I think this one requires a two-part answer. On an ongoing basis, I run, I visit friends, I take a break from my computer to read or watch TV. But in the moment, when something is stressing me out, my best approach is to fix it right away, or if it can’t be fixed right away, I come up with a game plan to fix it, so that I know exactly when and how it’ll be resolved.

What did your parents or friends say when you told them you wanted to start your own business/your business idea?
They were so supportive! My parents were especially supportive. Growing up (and to this day), my dad was always coming up with new ideas and encouraging me to pursue them or work with him on them. My favorite example is when we created a prototype for an invention we called the Trail Snap. I can’t give it all away, because it’s brilliant, but I’ll give you a hint: you use it when you go skiing, or you would if we had taken it past the prototype stage.

Emily Dubner

Founder & CEO of Baking For Good

http://bakingforgood.com

888-684-4644

facebook.com/bakingforgood

twitter: bakingforgood

Leave a Reply

