Introducing Natalie: Our Weekly Woman Entrepreneur

Meet Natalie, inspiring men and women to take control of their lives through their fitness and well-being.

What inspired you to start your own business?

Honestly, I never thought I would be doing what I’m doing today.  Since I was a little girl, my dream was to be a performer on Broadway.  I went to college for Musical Theatre Performance and pretty quickly after graduating, I was cast in the musical “Mamma Mia!” as the understudy of the leading role, Sophie, and as a member of the Ensemble.  While I was performing in the show, I studied with NASM to become certified as a personal trainer because I knew that once I wasn’t performing in the show anymore, I didn’t want to be an unemployed actress/waitress.  I wanted to work in something I felt passionate about and that fulfilled me while still auditioning.  After I left “Mamma Mia!” I started working as a trainer with a fitness company.  I was always waiting for them to call me with a new client and I felt like I was at the financial whim of the company. Frustrated, I started to advertise my services on my own and as I built more clients, more referrals came and I didn’t need my job with the fitness company anymore.  Today my dream has shifted to wanting to inspire people through health/wellness/fitness rather than through theater.  I am now working towards empowering women and men to feel good in their own skin and it’s more rewarding than I thought possible.

What has been your biggest success?

Being able to make my own way financially on my business alone! It was a great moment for me when I realized that I didn’t need any more help from family to get things up and running or keep things moving along. It’s all on me now and I hope I continue to be so lucky!

What was the most exciting aspect of starting your own business?

Jumping into the unknown but at the same time knowing that I have the power to steer the ship, so to speak.  It’s so exciting to realize that I can make anything happen and that anything that happens comes from me and no one else!

What is the best lesson you could give a young women who wants to start her own business?

Believe in yourself to make things happen.  If you don’t, no one else will.

Have you stayed close with clients/peers you’ve met in the field?

Definitely.  I’m lucky enough to have clients that have stuck with me for years now. I’m even more lucky that I can call almost all of my clients ‘friend’ as well . Some of them have stopped training with me for financial reasons, but have become close friends instead. They are always my biggest cheerleader and refer me when anyone needs a fitness professional.

Natalie Rado

Be Well: Fitness by Natalie

http://www.natalierado.com

Twitter: Natalieee28

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/New-York-NY/Be-Well-Fitness-by-Natalie/112690415419567?ref=ts&__a=14&ajaxpipe=1

Leave a Reply

