Introducing Lisa: Our Weekly Woman Entrepreneur

Lisa has been involved with weddings and social events since 2007, and she runs a boutique style event planning firm focused on chic, stylish weddings.

What is the best lesson you could give a young woman who wants to start her own business?

Show your passion for what your business is. Often times, women {myself included} don’t want to seem boastful or arrogant, so we tend to play down our achievements.  If you are starting a business, tell everyone.  Show your enthusiasm and people will get interested.  Besides, how can grow if you don’t spread the word about yourself?

What do you wish you had known when you started your own business?

That being a small business means you are everything.  While I run and grow my business every day, I also need to keep up with the administrative tasks which can be tedious and not my strengths.  Sometimes you go from marketing to accounting to planning to taking messages in a single day and you have to be prepared to be in each role at a moment’s notice.  Unless of course, you outsource!

What was the best compliment you have ever received about your business or your business efforts?

I’ve been really fortunate to hear similar complements from vendors at various events: I make everyone calm and relaxed and that they don’t have to worry because I am in control.  I’ve been told that too many times, vendors feel like the wedding coordinator doesn’t have a handle on things and working with me is quite the opposite.  I try to live my life in a relaxed state so its wonderful to have that quality recognized!

What was your proudest moment?

This sounds cheesy, but at the end of every wedding, when the Bride and Groom say Thank You.  Its nice to know that ally my efforts are truly appreciated.

Have you stayed close with clients/peers you’ve met in the field?

Absolutely!  Networking is key especially in an industry that relies so heavily on referrals.  Having good, caring relationships with my peers and clients is invaluable.

Lisa Green
lisadee@andersongreenevents.com
646-827-4705
www.andersongreenevents.com
www.nycwedplanner.com
@nycwedplanner

One response to “Introducing Lisa: Our Weekly Woman Entrepreneur

  1. Pingback: Monday Musing: Celebrating Women Entrepeneurs » NYCWEDPLANNER: New York City Wedding Planner's Blog

Leave a Reply

